top of page
  • © Keystone Sports Extra

Penn State Wins Its 12th

Kansas City, MO - March 23, 2024: The Penn State University wrestling team crowned eight NCAA Division I All-Americans, including four National Champions, on its way to claiming its twelfth team title, the eleventh under Coach Cael Sanderson. Penn State outscored the second place team, Cornell University, 172.5 to 71 to take home the championship trophy for the eleventh time in thirteen years. Seniors Greg Kerkvliet (285), Aaron Brooks (197), Carter Starocci (174), and Sophomore Levi Haines (157) led the way for the Nittany Lions as the four National Champions. Making history for Penn State, Brooks and Starocci became the first four-time National Champions for the Lions. Beau Bartlett (141) and Mitchell Mesenbrink (165) were also in the finals but lost close hard-fought matches. Tyler Kasak (149), a former Bethlehem Catholic High School student-athlete and true freshman, placed third while Bernie Truax (184) placed fifth. Kasak made history as well as he became only the ninth wrestler in NCAA history to lose their first bout and then go on to win the next seven to take third place. As for local Lehigh Valley wrestlers, Lehigh University crowned three All-Americans in Luke Stanich (125) who placed fifth, Ryan Crookham (133) who placed third, and Michael Beard (197) who placed eighth. The T-Mobile Center saw almost 94,000 fans attend this year's championship. In 2025, the NCAA Division I Championships will be at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, PA. The below photo shows the Penn State team.


bottom of page